South Walton Celebrity Golf Classic

Sandestin Golf
Sandestin, Florida

Golf enthusiasts will have the chance to hit the links with dozens of sports legends and other celebrities in the 16th Annual South Walton Celebrity Golf Classic on November 1-3 at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. Proceeds from this year’s tournament will benefit Working Warriors, which serves the military community by working with corporate America to provide jobs and economic independence to our nation’s heroes.

“Over the past 15 years, this event has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for worthy charities,” said tournament chairman Charlie Haje.

Among those committed to participating are baseball legends Bill Mazeroski, Phil Niekro, Frank Howard, Rick Cerone, Mackey Sasser, Von Hayes, Greg McMichael, Elroy Face, Sam McDowell, Chris Hammond, Brett Butler, Juan Bonilla, Greg Litton, Rick Reuschel, and David Ross. Football greats Ed “Too Tall” Jones, Jessie Tuggle, Zeke Bratkowski, Bob Brunet, Derrick Brooks and Jackie Burkett are on the roster, along with celebrated SEC basketball coach Wimp Sanderson. Other well-known names from sports and other fields are expected to be added to the roster.

The tournament will be televised on Fox Sports at various times following the event.

Sunset Golfers
Sandestin Sunset

The event begins Thursday evening with a welcome gala at the gulf-front Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa. At 10:00 a.m. on Friday and Saturday mornings, golfers hit the links in a shotgun start on Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort’s Raven and Baytowne golf courses. Friday night features a celebrity gala and auction at the Hilton Emerald Ballroom. The weekend ends with a post-round cookout and awards ceremony.

The deadline for registration is October 1. The format is five-player scramble with one celebrity randomly assigned per team. For the first time, a limited number of gallery tickets will be sold, allowing spectators to cheer their favorites along the course. Visit South Walton is giving away a foursome valued at $2,500 to one lucky winner on Facebook.

For more information or to register, go to